On O.W. and the Spirit of Revelation (My Thoughts)

I rarely blog about controversial topics.  Most of the time peoples points of view are so set that any type of rhetoric rarely sways them and instead can lead to fiery contention.  When I started this blog, I didn’t want this space to become a place of arguing.

That’s why I’ve been a little apprehensive to approach this subject, but there’s just an aspect of this story I feel is being strongly overlooked.

I have a strong testimony of the power of revelation both in my own life and revelation on behalf of my priesthood leaders.   I worked closely once with my old Bishop through a rough repentance process.  HIs counsel, while difficult at times, was inspired.  As I followed it I was able to overcome some difficult obstacles and I grew closer to Christ.

Likewise, while I served my mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, I grew an intense love and respect for my Mission President.  I witnessed him make some incredibly difficult decisions, but I had no doubt that he was inspired.

Some of those decisions were unpopular, but they were right and they were made under the influence of the spirit and authority of his calling.

This recent case of a choice made by priesthood leaders is not about PR, it’s not about “silencing”, it’s not about politics.  It’s about the spirit of revelation.

I strongly believe that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints is organized and led by Jesus Christ Himself.  A bold claim, I know.

Thus, when difficult decisions have to be made by leaders, I believe it is through the power of the Holy Ghost that these decisions are made.  Especially a decision of this magnitude, is not to be taken lightly.

I can only imagine the amount of prayers and struggle to come to such a decision.  It’s just sad that something that should be a very private matter has been made into such a public spectacle.

But that’s another topic for another day.

Keep the faith,

-Alex

Comments welcome.  But please be respectful.  🙂 

 

 

12 thoughts on “On O.W. and the Spirit of Revelation (My Thoughts)

  1. Ben

    Great post Alex. As I’ve re-read 1st and 2 Nephi this past month it’s OOZING with the them that the Spirit guides. It’s a wonderful principle but hard for many to accept and believe. I’m glad you are one who does.

    Reply
  2. grandmapal

    Dear Alex, It’s good to see your writing again! I can see you have it in your soul to want to write — and I do also! I totally agree with all you wrote, and the O W (Ordain Women) issue is so outlandish and even on the ridiculous to try to sway our leaders. They truly are inspired men of God, and it the eternal sense, both men and women have wonderful roles to accomplish if they are working to become like our Father in Heaven. — from your friend, Pal

    Reply
    1. Alex Barlow Post author

      Thanks Pal. The past few weeks have been very busy and I haven’t had a lot of time to write unfortunately. Thank you for your comment. I hope you are doing well!

      Reply
  3. Shawn

    Then it’s a problem of truth. The truth is Church leaders believe something that is wrong. And history shows they have changed before through “revelation” but it aligned with the times and public pressure so it causes skepticism in “revelation”. The church is a human institution which means it is not completely divine “for we hold this treasure in earthen vessels.” Kate and others are pointing out that this whole thing about it being exclusive to men is wrong and she “feels” this in her heart as many have “felt truth” in their hearts. Feelings are our own, it’s not a distant voice but rather interpretation of our own desires and then we misrepresent god. That is what they mean by taking the lords name in vain. They mean taking your words and feelings and saying its Gods will. God doesn’t speak exclusively to certain people, god communicates with us all but indirectly. It’s therefore a mystery ultimately what god is trying to say but we are in this together so we should remember to stick together. Any exclusions should be seen as wrong because to put it simply: it’s not kind. Kindness to our fellow human companions no matter how different should be at the forefront. Love is the ideal, let’s aim for that because all this institutional jargon just seems silly when you look at it long enough.

    Reply
    1. Alex Barlow Post author

      Thanks for your comment Shawn.

      P.S. I miss you. And your random gibberish outbursts in class 🙂 And I hope you’re doing well.

      I thought I’d respond to a few points you brought up

      -In regards to revelation aligning with the times, you are absolutely right. But this follows the pattern of how revelation is received. Revelation rarely comes randomly, but rather it is sought out. When prophets or apostles are faced with certain issues of the times they are in, they search it out in their own minds, seek knowledge through prayer and fasting and then the revelations come. We have to seek, knock and ask BEFORE a revelation is received. Sometimes the reason why prophets or leaders seek is because these issues are brought to their attention.

      -In regards to feelings, there is a big difference between emotion, feelings and receiving the spirit. I’ve felt both and as time has gone on I’ve been able to tell the difference. I know that the Holy Ghost is real and He does testify to us of truth.

      -If your interpretation of taking the Lord’s name in vain is true, then that means every Prophet (including Moses, Adam, Noah etc. etc.) have all taken His name in vain. Including The Savior Jesus Christ who testified that He was doing the will of the Father in all of His interactions and teachings.

      I do not believe for one second that they were taking his name in vain. I do believe that God is not a God of confusion and He does choose and ordain certain men to be His mouthpiece, to help lead and guide His children here on earth. He does this because He loves us, He wants us to come to know of Him. And that has always been His pattern.

      Nobody has to take my word for it, As Jesus said,

      “If any man will do his will, he shall know of the doctrine, whether it be of God, or whether I speak of myself” John 7:17

      -I do know that God can and does speak to us directly. He is our Father. He loves us. He doesn’t want us to wander in darkness here on earth alone.

      He has answered my prayers many times and I have received counsel by His hand. It’s not because “I’m favored’ or anyone else for that matter, but because I followed the admonitions contained in the scriptures, to once again, seek, ask and knock. He does give answers. He does speak. He is not shrouded in mystery. And He wants all of us to draw near to Him, but He won’t force us .

      Anyway, I’ve written too much. I hope you know how much respect and admiration I have for you.

      Reply
      1. Shawn

        I have the same admiration for you my friend. I especially admire your religious conviction. I believe in god and I especially enjoy engaging in discussing philosophy and theology. I may have stepped away from institutions of religion but I see them as necessary but far from perfect. I am still apart of the community and I hope my contrasting thoughts and ideas only bring us all closer together. Thanks for the thoughtful response. 🙂

      2. Alex Barlow Post author

        Thanks Shawn. You are a great person. I too enjoy discussing philosophy and theology. Best of luck in all your endeavors. When you’re a famous actor, I look forward to saying “I knew him when…”

  4. Liz S

    I do think, as human beings, our leaders are prone to error. That said, I don’t think this is one of those instances (I’m thinking more of a Bishop who molested his granddaughter — the extremes). I would hope that both Ms Kelly and Mr Dehlin will find a way to stay inside the walls of the Church, but because they made their process so public I was able to read the letters addressed to them, and one could definitely tell the amount of love and prayer that was put into their individual situations.

    Reply
    1. Alex Barlow Post author

      Thanks for your comment Liz. And right you are, as humans they are prone to error. I hope you and your family are doing well, let me know if you guys ever come to utah.

      Reply
  5. Debs

    I always enjoy reading something that speaks truth, regardless of my personal feelings on the whole affair of the OW organisation, the truth will always come through the darkest and hardest of trials… for that I am so very grateful even though it means we walk alone or stand in the midst of ridicule… the beautiful thing is the Lord has our back, each and every one of us! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

