The Most Basic Principle of a Life Worth Living

Man on top

© Depositphotos.com/zatfor

I apologize for the lack of posts lately, but I’m nearing the end of my final semester of college and life has been insane.  In just one week I’ll be completely done with my bachelors degree.  Whewf.

I wish I could properly capture the roller coaster that has happened to me in the past few weeks, but I’m afraid that would take up a thousand blog posts.  I’ll spare you the novel.

But, I do want to write about something that has been on my mind a lot lately.  It’s the most basic and one of the most important principles of a life worth living.

Faith.  The first principle of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

As I’ve approached the end of college I’ve spent a lot of time praying and pondering about what I should do with my life.  I’ve always been a dreamer and this time period is no exception.   I dream of being a writer.  A poet.  A playwright.

I’ve prayed about these dreams and have felt very strongly that the Lord will help me accomplish them.  Time and time again I’ve received that confirmation.  For the past few months I’ve been planning out all of the details of how I could possibly make this dream a reality and support my family at the same time.  The Lord has answered many of my questions.

I have a plan.  I have a direction.  I have a Divine “Thumbs-up”.   But still I fear.  Constantly.  

I fear every time I tell my dream to someone and they give me the raised eyebrow.

I fear when I think about my past failures.

I fear every time I think about the implication of putting myself out there by sharing my poetry and plays online.  A lot of this work is very personal to me.  Talk about feeling vulnerable.

But today I took great comfort in a scripture about faith from the Book of Mormon,

“And now as I said concerning faith—faith is not to have a perfect knowledge of things; therefore if ye have faith ye hope for things which are not seen, which are true.” -Alma 32:21

I love this.  Just because we can’t see it yet, doesn’t mean it’s not true.  

The best things in life require faith on our part. And the beautiful thing?  Eventually we do see that which we have faith in

“faith is things which are hoped for and not seen; wherefore, dispute not because ye see not, for ye receive no witness until after the trial of your faith.” Either 12:6

It’s after our trial of faith that we receive the witness we’re looking for.  It’s after we hustle.  It’s after we endure our trials.  It’s after we’ve taken leaps of faith that we’ll receive our witness of truth.

And while this principle has been impressed upon me once again through the context of me following my dreams after graduation, I really want to stress that this principle is most important when it’s applied to gaining a testimony of Heavenly Father and His Son Jesus Christ

So If you’re wondering if God exists and cares about you.  Exercise faith and pray to Him.  Read His words through the scriptures and the living prophets. Come to know of Him.  And after you exercise your faith and after it’s tried (yes there will be trials of your faith…), you’ll receive a witness of truth.  I know I have.

God lives.  He loves you.  Just don’t dispute it because you can’t see it yet.

-Alex

If you’d like to see what I’m planning to do with sharing my poetry online, you can read it about here- http://justamormonwriter.com/ldpp/

Leave a Reply

