“The Conversion Chronicles” Part 1

You know what I love?  Conversion stories.  You know what I appreciate and am grateful for?  People who are willing to take the time to share their stories.  That’s why every so often I’m going to be taking conversion stories that others have shared and feature them on this blog.

Every time I read one I feel strengthened and it reminds me of my own conversion process.  I hope to (very soon) share the full details of how I gained my own personal testimony (I love video and I’m actually working on putting together a video of my story).

In the meantime I hope my simple testimony can suffice:

-I know God lives.  I know He cares for us and loves us.  

-I know that salvation comes only through Jesus Christ.  I know that He lives.  I know that His Atonement was real.  I know  that he suffered for our sins, pains, weaknesses, sicknesses and anything else He would go through.  His Atonement has healed me on many occasions and has helped me to be free from the bondage of sin.  

-I know the Book of Mormon is the word of God.  I know that it’s true.  I also know the bible to be true (as long as it is translated correctly)

-I know Joseph Smith was a true prophet and that the Restoration of the Fullness of the Gospel did happen.

-I know we are led by a prophet of God today and that, just as in ancient times God still speaks to His children.  

On top of all this, I wanted to share two resources I have been touched by recently.  Both of these are conversion stories of people who have found faith in Christ and have joined the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.

The first is Al Fox (although she was just recently married so her last name has changed, unfortunately I can’t remember it off the top of my head).  Al has been an inspiration to me and her example of sharing the Gospel online and through video has helped motivate me to do the same.  Her story is amazing.  She also has a lot of fantastic videos on youtube and I recommend checking out her channel.

The second resource is a blog I stumbled across here on WordPress.   This writer has been detailing her story in a variety of posts from her first encounter with the church to what has happened after she was baptized and confirmed.  I’ve enjoyed learning of her story.  Here is the link for her blog-

http://ldsconvertstory.wordpress.com

Before I end this post, I want to also offer one more thing I know-

-I know that anyone can receive a testimony if they ask of God.  These stories are shining examples of this.  Most testimonies don’t develop overnight- all of the knowledge God wishes to bless us with often comes step by step, “line upon line, precept upon precept” (2nd Nephi 28:30)

But it does come and it will come for any who honestly seek it.

Look to God,

-AJ

You can find out more about what I believe and why I do here 

Leave a Reply

