Dear Missionary- Never Underestimate the Power of Your Calling

mission picture editedFor me it was the typical fast and testimony meeting. My wife and I were out in the foyer trying to keep up with  our children and stop them from openly disturbing the masses.  Members and a few non members were sharing their testimonies from the pulpit.  It was nice, as always, but I will admit I was pretty distracted by my kids.

Then a young Sister Missionary got up to speak and everything changed.

It was just a simple testimony.  There was nothing eloquent or particularly witty about it, but it was powerful.  Even though I had been having a hard time focusing, the spirit flooded the room.  My heart burned within me.

The spirit was palpable.

I was reminded of a simple truth I had forgotten since I served my mission in Nebraska four years ago-

Never underestimate the power of a missionary.

When missionaries choose to serve they give up many things for two years (or 18 months for Sister Missionaries)- T.V, family, school, career pursuits, video games, romantic relationships etc. etc.  but despite what they give up, they gain so much more.

One of the things they gain, just like in this Sister’s case, is a magnification of the spirit. You can see it in their countenance and feel it when they speak.  They truly can speak by the power of the Holy Ghost.

I don’t think missionaries always fully comprehend it.  I know I didn’t when I served my full time mission.  I think that because missionaries have the spirit with them so strongly all of the time (it’s bound to happen when you give up worldly things and focus only on serving the Savior) they don’t always realize what it does for other people who don’t have that same spirit in their lives.

I sure didn’t have it at that moment in church, but I was really grateful for that Sister Missionary who invited the Holy Ghost so strongly into that meeting.

Of course this power doesn’t come automatically just because someone is a missionary.  They also need to be obedient and magnify their calling.  But when they do it can often leave others feeling just like the disciples of old who were taught by the Savior,

“And they said one to another, Did not our heart burn within us, while he talked with us by the way, and while he opened to us the scriptures?” -Luke 24:32

So thank you Sister Missionary, for sharing your testimony and reminding me why I love missionary work and missionaries so much and to all other missionaries-

Don’t underestimate the power of your calling.  

Don’t underestimate the power of having the spirit with you.  

Best wishes,

-AJ

Find out more about LDS Missionaries here 

Find me on Facebook and Twitter

Reader Question: What about you?  Has a missionary ever touched your life?  Please feel free to share in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

