I just had the weirdest experience…

Ok.  So maybe “weirdest” isn’t the right word for what just happened to me, but I’m having trouble finding another phrase to describe it.  Perhaps the best way is to simply say that I’m in awe by the power of the scriptures.

buch_mormon_online

I remember sitting in church having a lesson on the Book of Mormon and hearing someone say that the scriptures become new each time we read them- new verses stand out to us, different things adapt to our needs, and I remember agreeing with this statement (it’s something I’ve seen to be true) but I forgot just how powerful that principle really is. Let me explain….

Lately I’ve been having a lot of anxiety about the future. I hopefully graduate college at the end of this coming semester and I’m terrified about not finding a teaching job, or whether I should continue on to higher education (and how I can afford it without having to sell my kidneys on the black market…) and it has been really weighing me down.

One night I woke up at 3 in the morning, started stressing and couldn’t go back to sleep, so I decided I could either sit in my bed and let my brain eat me alive (new sci-fi movie anyone?) or try to process my feelings.  So I headed to my living room, had a prayer and opened my Book of Mormon.  I came across a verse that jumped out to me. I could’ve sworn it read:

If you are righteous and put the Lord first, He will bless you with the desires of your heart.

Or something to that effect (only with a lot more thees and thous…) but to me the scriptures were telling me that if I put the Lord first and gave spiritual matters a higher priority, the Lord would bless me with that job I truly desire.  A job where I can use my talents and creativity to really be happy.  I wanted to write a whole blog post about putting God first and include that scripture, but I was having a really hard time finding it.   But then I finally did come across it and it kind of blew my mind.  Here’s the real scripture, from Helaman 3:

Thus we may see that the Lord is merciful unto all who will, in the sincerity of their hearts, call upon his holy name.

Quite different then how I remember it, but it really spoke to me in that moment. To me, the Lord’s mercy mentioned in this scripture applied directly to me, and that yes, the Lord would be merciful to ME, little old me.  Me in the billions of all His children- He had a message specifically for me. Pretty dang awesome.

The point I’m trying to get at is that the scriptures DO speak to us in our specific needs.  In the moment, that scripture gave me everything I needed, I felt comforted, I felt the spirit and I felt answers to my prayers and I was able to go right back to sleep.  If you’re feeling stuck or you’re struggling, I strongly suggest praying and looking to the scriptures for answers.  You never know just how they’ll speak to you.

One thought on “I just had the weirdest experience…

  1. Pingback: A Mormon’s Book of Mormon – “Believe in God” | Mormon In Minnesota

Leave a Reply

